

Resource Policies and Allocations Council (RPA) Meeting

Thursday, 25 January 2024, 11:00am-12:00pm (#107 Lab of Mechanics)

2023-2024 Council Membership: Tim Bigelow (Chair RPA, ENG), Gary Munkvold (AGR), Arnie Cowan (BUS), Kelly Reddy-Best (HSC), Ken Tsai (HSC-Sub), Karen Kedrowski (LAS), Derald Holtkamp (VET), Jack Dekkers (Faculty Compensation Committee Chair), Ulrike Passe (RPP Committee Chair), Doug Jacobson (IT Committee Chair), Sarah Bennett-George (Faculty Senate President), Rahul Parsa (Faculty Senate President-Elect), Jon Perkins (Faculty Senate Past President); Ellen Reints (SVPP), and Jonathan Wickert (SVPP)

Council Charge: Develops and maintains a system for shared governance to ensure communication between faculty and administration in relation to resource policies and allocations; advances proposals consistent with Faculty Senate initiatives and priorities; recommends initiatives to the senate pertaining to resource policies and allocations; works with the university president and other administrators to implement approved policies.

Agenda

I. Call to Order (11:00 am)

II. Updates from Committees

- a. Faculty Compensation Committee (Jack Dekkers)
- b. Research Planning and Policy Committee (Ulrike Passe)
- c. Information Technology Committee (Doug Jacobson)

III. Old Business

- a. Proposed new structure for RPA see attachment.
- b. Graduate College Changes Impact on Faculty Invite William Graves
- c. Process for Selecting/Updating Software at ISU
 - i. Incorporating major policy changes at the same time as software changes

IV. New Business

a. Resource needs given the increase in AI

V. Other Items from the Floor

VI. Adjournment