## Faculty Senate Committee on Documents: 2018 – 2019 Annual Report

Committee Members: Aaron Gassmann (CALS), Haozhe Chen (COB), Diane Al Shihabi (COD),Omar Smadi (ENG), Jan Friedel (CHS), Natalie Royston (LAS), David Verhoeven (VET), Tim Day (Past President), Dawn Bratsch-Prince (FPP), Denise Vrchota (Chair)

This report covers January 2019 Faculty Handbook updates and previews changes for the August 2019 Faculty Handbook.

Posting of the January 2019 edition of the Faculty Handbook was delayed until February 8, 2019 in order to accommodate approval of proposed policies at the January 2019 Faculty Senate meeting.

On Jan. 28, 2019, the following revisions to the Faculty Handbook were sent to members of the Faculty Senate Committee on Documents with the request to review the revisions and respond to the chair no later than February 1, 2019:

**5.1.1.2.2.** Action Plan Mediation details steps to be taken in the event of an unsatisfactory faculty review.

**7.2.2.2. Discrimination and Harassment** revised the harassment policy previously stated in the Faculty Handbook.

7.2.2.3. **Bullying (Harassing) Behavior** revised the harassment policy (7.2.2.2) by incorporating language that addressees bullying.

In addition to responsibilities associated with the Faculty Handbook, the committee also completed a revision of the Faculty Senate Procedures Manual. The Procedures Manual provides guidance in the execution of their senate duties to elected and appointed officers and council and committee chairs. The revision process was begun by the 2017 - 2018 Faculty Senate Committee on Documents and completed by the current committee. The revised document was sent to the Faculty Senate Council on Governance for review.

A proposal for revisions to **10.5.** Policy for Addressing Disruptive Conduct in the Learning **Environment** is scheduled for discussion at the May 7, 2019 Faculty Senate meeting. If the revisions are approved by the Faculty Senate, the revised policy will be entered into the August 2019 Faculty Handbook.

Respectfully submitted,

Denise Vrchota, Chair Faculty Senate Committee on Documents