Governance Council Annual Report

For Academic Year 2014-2015

The Governance Council of the Faculty Senate started the year with its first meeting on 9-30-14. At each meeting the Governance Council heard reports from each of the three committees that report to the Council. These committees are:

- 1) Committee on Committees: Rob Wallace, chair. Throughout the year Rob kept the council up-to-date on committee openings and progress in filling the openings.
- 2) Senate Documents Committee: Veronica Dark, chair. Throughout the year Veronica discussed with the council any handbook changes that would be forthcoming.
- 3) College and Departmental Document Review Committee: Jeffrey Kushkowski, chair. Jeffrey discussed the schedule the CDDR committee had for the year. The year was to be spent with college reviews. A final report from CDDR will be submitted to the council.

The major topic of action for the council focused on this year were various issues dealing with Non-Tenure Eligible (NTE) appointments. A subcommittee was formed to generate action items under this topic. The members of this NTE subcommittee were: Carol Faber, Brett Sponseller, Martha Selby and Dawn Bratsch-Prince.

Summary of NTE subcommittee action:

Five meetings of the subcommittee were held: 10/21/14, 11/18/14, 1/13/15, 1/17/15 and 2/24/25. Details of these meetings are included as a summary in the minutes of the council. Items discussed included:

- 1) Renewal/Nonrenewal procedures for Lecturers/Sr. Lecturers (FH 3.4.1.1 and 5.4.1)
- 2) Length of contracts for NTE appointments
- 3) Review requirements for renewal
- 4) College of Veterinary Medicine has concerns about Clinician titles. Would like to consider different NTE titles that take the form of Clinical Asst. Prof., Clinical Assoc. Prof, and Clinical Prof. They will form a committee to consider new titles.
- 5) Use of 1 semester contracts: how much and is it only done when it's really necessary?
- 6) 12 month notice requirement when the contract is for a year or less is problematic
- 7) Minimum length of contracts for lecturers and also for senior lecturers

Action items from the NTE subcommittee:

1) Handbook change to Senior Lecturer/Clinical minimum contract length. This resulted in proposed changes to FH 5.4.1.1 and 3.4.1.1 that became docket item S14-5. This change to the handbook was approved by the faculty senate on 12/9/14.

2) Handbook change to lecturer renewal notice requirements. This resulted in proposed changes to FH 5.4.1.2 and 3.4.1.1 that became docket item S14-18. This change was voted down by the Faculty Senate on 4/21/15.

Other action items that came from the council this year:

- 1) S14-6, a wording change in FH 3.4.1.1 in the section referring to the automatic appointment that happens if the required notice to renew or not renew toward the end of some lecturer/clinician and all senior lecturer/clinician contracts is not given.
- 2) S14-7, a change in the eligibility requirements for nomination as a Distinguished Professor.
- 3) Consideration of proposed changes to FH 5.2.2.5 and 5.2.2.1. Both of these proposed changes came from a report from Engagement and Outreach. Council passed on recommending any changes at that time because of the pending recommendation coming from the PRS Task Force.
- 4) Discussion and extended consideration of the NTER report. After spirited discussions over three council meetings, the council finally responded to the report by voting its agreement or non-agreement of each of the recommendations in the report and forwarding these results to the Executive Board for the 4/14/15 EB meeting.

The Governance Council oversaw another successful election of senators and committee chairs and appointments to the Athletic Council. Overall, the Governance Council had a very busy year and tackled some very complicated and sometimes controversial issues. More details on the council's actions can be viewed in the Council minutes which are posted on the senate website.

This report is respectfully submitted by:

Martha Selby, Chair of Governance Council, (College of Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering department)

Members of the Council are:

Martha Selby, chair

Andrew Manu (CALS), Yoshi Suzuki (BUS), Carol Faber (DES), Chris Williams (ENG), Patricia Leigh (HSC), Rebecca Jackson (LAS), Brett Sponseller (VET), Veronica Dark (Senate Documents chair), Jeff Kushkowski (CCDR chair), Jack Girton (Ex-Officio – AAUP), and Dawn Bratsch-Prince (Ex-Officio – EVPP)