# Faculty Senate Curriculum Committee (FSCC) Minutes Wednesday April 15, 2020 3:00 – 3:25 PM Virtual Meeting

# Attending:

<u>Voting members:</u> Doug Jacobson (ENG; FSCC chair), Tom Brumm (CALS), Mark Hargrove (LAS), Anne Clem (BUS), Jonathan Fox (CHS), Jelena Bogdanović (CoD)

<u>Ex-officio:</u> James Klimavicz (GPSS Grad. Student Representative), Shawn Boyne (Provost's office, Academic Quality and Undergraduate Education), Jenni Keitges (Registrar), and Sebastian Speer (grad college), Amber Tiarks (Associate Registrar).

Doug Jacobson, FSCC chair, convened the meeting at 3:00pm.

- Agenda reviewed, minutes assigned.
- -Approval of FSCC minutes from January 22, 2020; vote 6 (for)/0 (against)/0 (abstain).
- -Items forwarded from AAC: AAC and Faculty senate created a task force to review the learning objectives for the US diversity requirements. The task force will be forwarding their recommendations to the Faculty Senate EB. It is expected that FSCC will need to discuss the proposed objectives next year. The task force was not charged with implementation details. FSCC will be able to weigh in on implementation next year.

### **Unfinished Business:**

 Various items to address this year; a handout passed by Doug Jacobson regarding the <u>Undergraduate/Graduate Programs Policy and Procedures, AY 19-20 Priorities</u> as charged by subcommittee #1: Curriculum Consistency [from fall 2019: Doug Jacobson, Tom Brumm, Jonathan Fox, Jelena Bogdanović, James Klimavicz, and Judy Strand. Suggested participation from advising student services. Registrar representatives will serve as conveners; from Jan. 2020 meeting Shawn Boyne (Provost's office, Academic Quality and Undergraduate Education), Jenni Keitges (Registrar), and Shawna Saad (Associate Registrar) included; Mark Hargrove to be included as well)

The sub committees have each met, but due to COVID-19 they have not completed their tasks. This should be continued next year.

First priority: US Diversity

Task force committee already formed, put together by executive board with representatives from various constituencies; co-chaired by Ann Marie VanDerZanden and Jonathan Sturm. Short discussion. (discussed)

# **New Business:**

### 1. Possible new programs

The ITEC name change, MAT degree(s) from School of Ed, and an MS in Artificial Intelligence will all be coming to the committee next year.

2. Subcommittee to discuss proposed Department of Education guidelines for on-line courses

Shawn Boyne forwarded a set of proposed guidelines for on-line courses. It was decided a small subcommittee be created to review and develop a set of guidelines for Iowa State. Tom Brumm, Mark Hargrove, and Doug Jacobson agree to serve on the subcommittee and Shawn identified Ann Gansemer-Top from SoE to be on the subcommittee.

# 3. Remainder of the year and summer

Given the COVID-19 situation, the committee was advised to watch for emails asking for their input to possible rules changes etc.

### Note from the Chair

Doug Jacobson indicated this was his last year as chair of FSCC due to term limits and that EB will be appointing a new chair for fall 2020.

With no other items to discuss, meeting adjourned at 3:20 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Doug Jacobson, April 16, 2020.