IOWA STATE UNIVERSITY

Faculty Senate

Max S. Wortman, Jr.
President
103 Lab of Mechanics
Ames, Iowa 50011-2130
515-294-9717

May 24, 2002

To: President Gregory Geoffroy Provost Rollin Richmond

Provost in the Interim Benjamin Allen

Dean Catherine Wotecki Professor Kenneth Kruempel

From: Max Wortman, President, Faculty Senate

Re: Approval of the Name Change of the Departments of Forestry and Animal Ecology to the Department of Natural Resources Ecology and Management

In this rare exception to normal Faculty Senate procedures and in deference to the impending departure of Provost Rollin Richmond, the Executive Board of the Faculty Senate has approved the pending change in the names of the Departments of Forestry and Animal Ecology to the Department of Natural Resources Ecology and Management by unanimous electronic vote..

In accordance with regular Faculty Senate procedure, the Executive Board will forward this action to the Faculty Senate on September 10, 2002, on the consent agenda. All future curricular matters involved in the merger of the two departments should be forwarded to the Faculty Senate Curriculum Committee for their action in September, 2002 and through normal channels of the Academic Affairs Council, the Executive Board, and the Faculty Senate. These will be handled in time for the 2003-2005 Catalog changes.

If you have any questions, please contact me.

Cc: Dr. Susan Carlson Executive Board