RECOMMENDATION

Motion from the Executive Board

The Executive Board recommends that the Faculty Senate approve the completion of the first phase of the reorganization of the Biological Sciences, by approving the formation of two new departments and the elimination of four existing departments. This puts into place a structure of four departments, NREM (Natural Resources and Environmental Management), EEOB, GDCB, and BBMB (Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Molecular Biology) which replace six old departments (Animal Ecology, Botany, BBMB, Forestry, Microbiology, and Zoology and Genetics).

This approval of the formation of these departments does not include approval of the second phase of the reorganization. This will include such items as curricular reform, department structure (including such items as tenure and promotion documents and grievance procedures), space reorganization, and development of new research interest areas. These have yet to be developed or acted on by the affected faculty. The Faculty Senate will continue to monitor the ongoing progress of this reorganization as the next phase is planned. The Faculty Senate will review the activities in this phase of the reorganization and will consider approving them if they are approved by the faculty in the affected departments.